Credo Reference is a subscription based database that offers a variety of reference books such as encyclopedia's and dictionaries. Below are some examples and direct links to available titles. To gain access to these titles you will need to sign in using your Wor-Wic username and password.
Business: The Ultimate Resource offers practical and strategic advice for anyone doing business today. It is an essential desk reference for managers, MBA and business students and for small business owners worldwide.
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business.
QFINANCE: The Ultimate Resource offers articles with key themes in over 250 best practice and thought leadership articles. This edition comprises key perspectives on environmental, social, and governance factors -- essential for understanding the long-term sustainability of a company.
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary: Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.
Below are a sampling of the eBooks we have in our collection available to you 24/7 with your Wor-Wic username and password. This is a link to view some more of our offerings: EBSCO's Business subject eBooks
A fast and engaging read, Equity helps leaders create more inclusive organizations using human-centered design and behavior change principles.
This casebook tells the story of Xiecheng - a hugely successful hotel chain in China - with a clear focus on the formation and creation of its powerful and successful management team and the part they played in Xiecheng's impressive growth and performance.
The Hispanic-Latino community is large, expanding, and an important contributor to the U.S. economy. Numbering over 50 million, Hispanic-Latinos currently represent about 16% of the population. Hispanic-Latinos engage in a diversity of jobs that help keep the American economic engine running.
We fantasize about starting our own business, yet we're warned against falling into debt, working eighty hours a week, and coping with the pressure to grow."
We still see many communication graduates with little business knowledge and business graduates with little communication knowledge. This schism leads communication scholars to assume that better communication is an end in itself while management see it as a means to an end – it must somehow contribute to the bottom line
Drawing on four decades of award-winning research, Feminine Capital reveals how women are harnessing different approaches to doing business
Open access textbooks are available without a subscription or an account.
The below list of open access textbooks were taken directly from Anne Arundel Community College's Andrew G. Truxal Library Research Guide for Open Education Resources in Business.
"It is a college-level, introductory textbook that provides an overview of the fascinating subject of Business."
"The Boundless Marketing textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the exciting subject of Marketing."
Business Ethics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the single-semester business ethics course. This title includes innovative features designed to enhance student learning, including case studies, application scenarios, and links to video interviews with executives, all of which help instill in students a sense of ethical awareness and responsibility.
"The Business Fundamentals text is designed to introduce students, particularly those in developing economies, to the essential concepts of business and other organizations. It does this by focusing on small, entrepreneurial start-ups, and expanding the discussion in each chapter to include issues that are faced in larger organizations when it is appropriate to do so."
"This textbook is intended for use in introductory Entrepreneurship classes at the undergraduate level."
"This textbook offers background educational materials for instructors and students, business cases illustrating sustainability innovation, and teaching notes that enable instructors to work effectively and accelerate student learning."
"This text introduces students to the many facets of business, including business ethics and social responsibility, operating in global business environment, marketing, accounting, and finance."
It covers "primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses."
This textbook provides an innovative, internationally oriented approach to the teaching of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and business ethics. Drawing on case studies involving companies and countries around the world, the textbook explores the social, ethical, and business dynamics underlying CSR in such areas as global warming, genetically modified organisms (GMO) in food production, free trade and fair trade, anti-sweatshop and living-wage movements, organic foods and textiles, ethical marketing practices and codes, corporate speech and lobbying, and social enterprise. The book is designed to encourage students and instructors to challenge their own assumptions and prejudices by stimulating a class debate based on each case study.
Human Resource Management teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager—not just those in HR—needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people.
"The book begins with a discussion of the marketing
planning process, continues with a discussion of the preliminary tasks of developing
the plan, and concludes with the tactics available to the marketing planner."
"This text covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses."
"This Open Textbook is a dynamic guide incorporating the essential skills needed to build a foundation in Financial Analysis. Students and readers will learn how to insightfully read a Financial Statement, utilize key financial ratios in order to derive forward-looking investment-related inferences from the accounting data, engage in elementary forecasting and modeling, master the theory of the Time Value of Money, and learn to price stocks and bonds in an environment in which interest rates constantly change. Ample problems and solutions, and review questions are provided to the student so that s/he can gauge his/her progress"
"This book was designed to be used in an undergraduate-level introductory course in the nonprofit sector. It provides an overview of the vocabulary used in defining the work of nonprofit organizations, topics of interest to nonprofit managers, and describes the primary roles nonprofits play in American (and to a lesser extent international) communities."
Teaching the strategic management course can be a challenge for many professors. In most business schools, strategic management is a “capstone” course that requires students to draw on insights from various functional courses they have completed (such as marketing, finance, and accounting) in order to understand how top executives make the strategic decisions that drive whether organizations succeed or fail. Although students have taken these functional courses, many students have very little experience with major organizational choices. It is this inexperience that can undermine many students’ engagement in the course.
Organizational Behavior bridges the gap between theory and practice with a distinct "experiential" approach.
"Principles of Management teaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership."
"This book is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management. This is a traditional approach to management using the leading, planning, organizing, and controlling approach."
"Principles of Marketing teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing – not just the vocabulary. It carries five dominant themes throughout in order to expose students to marketing in today's environment."
