Skip to Main Content

Culinary Arts: Web Resources & Professional Associations

A guide to Culinary Arts resources and research for students and faculty in Wor-Wic's Culinary Arts Program. Find all available databases under Databases by Subject and select Hospitality/Tourism.

Culinary Arts Web Resources & Professional Associations

American Culinary Federation Nation's Capital Chef's Association Resources

Includes resources on chef website links, continuing education opportunities, events, certification, apprenticeship, job opportunities, chef resumes, military chefs, and much more.

CDC Food Safety

Includes food safety content on symptoms, risk factors, four steps to food safety, food poisoning, and more. 

Food Safety.gov

A website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services that includes food safety recalls and outbreaks, food safety charts, keeping food safe, preventing food poisoning, people at risk, and much more.

National Food Service Management Institute

USDA's institute that includes information on food, nutrition, and consumer services.

PBS Food

Includes a recipe finder, food shows and favorite chefs, stories and blogs, and more.

Smithsonian's National Museum of American History's Food History

Historical food research, collections, exhibitions, and programs that shares cultural food history in the garden, American history, cooking, wine, brewing, the food history team of culinary collaborators, and so much more.

The National Restaurant Association

Includes an extensive resource library, educational information on business operations, marketing and sales, tech and innovations, sustainability, preparedness, workforce engagement and so much more.

USDA FoodData Central

USDA's extensive source of food composition data with multiple distinct data types.

USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service

Information on food safety, science and data, policy, and inspection and more.

USDA National Agricultural Library

Find digital collections, kids recipes, nutrition information, and so much more.

USDA Nutrition.gov

Information about farmer's markets, nutritional facts, nutritional science, heart health, exercise and fitness, blood pressure, and much more.

 

 

USING THE CRAAP TEST

TO EVALUATE INFORMATION
 

How can you tell if the information you find is good information? The CRAAP Test, developed in 2010 and used with permission by the Meriam Library, California State University, Chico, can help you evaluate it.    

Key: ÿ indicates criteria is for Web

Evaluation Criteria

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?

Are the links functional?

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

  • Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
  • Would you be comfortable citing this source in your research paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • Is the author qualified to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?

Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?  examples: .com edu .gov .org .net

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness and correctness of the content.

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
  • Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem unbiased and free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar or typographical errors?

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by contacting disability services at disabilityservices@worwic.edu, 410-334-2899 or TTY 410-767-6960. Wor-Wic Community College is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Visit www.worwic.edu/ServicesSupport/Disability-Services to learn more. Library Services Call 410-334-2884/288